h1

Beer Review: Highland Brewing Company Oatmeal Porter

January 13, 2007

Oatmeal PorterHighland Brewing Company is based out of Asheville, NC, although some of their bottling is also done in Maryland.I have never really seen much difference between a regular stout and an oatmeal stout, or in this case, a regular porter and an oatmeal porter. This time is really no exception.

I opened the bottle and poured it into a lager glass (my pint glasses were all dirty, unfortunately). It poured a rich deep brown, with faint hints of red coming through. A medium head settled on top, colored a rich caramel and promising great richness to come.

On the nose were obvious hints of chocolate and coffee, as any good porter will have. I had somewhat high hopes for this brew. On my first taste, I noticed the coffee and chocolate flavors the nose had promised, but roastier variations. The roastedness was a nice touch.

Another nice touch was the hoppy finish. It took a couple drinks before I realized what was different about this porter…it was hoppy! When you’re drinking what you expect to be a nice malty porter, it’s easy to let the hops slip by for a while. The hops almost acted as a sort of palate cleanser, preparing you for the next taste. They also served to lighten the body a bit.

Overall, not a bad beer. I tend to like my porters and stouts good and malty, so the hops meant this beer is not exactly my style, but it made for an interesting experience.

Recommended: I suppose
Price: I paid $1.79 for one 12 oz. bottle
ABV: 5.8%

4 comments

  1. The good oaties tend to have a sweet twinge to them. It’s one of my favorite styles of stouts.


  2. Well, I’ve only had a couple oatmeal stouts and/or porters, so I probably just haven’t caught on to that yet….slow palate and all :)

    Tried the Blackstone Nut Brown last night too….I’ll try to get that review up soon….was too late last night to do both


  3. Hello

    Great book. I just want to say what a fantastic thing you are doing! Good luck!

    G’night


  4. [...] Read more about this topic from the author here. [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

