h1

News of a new brewery, and new beer review coming tomorrow

June 6, 2008

I tried Pyramid Brewery’s Thunderhead IPA last night. I’ll be posting that most likely tomorrow. It’s a higher alcohol beer than what I generally review (it’s only 6.7% though). I want to start doing more of those.

Anyway, I received an email from someone at a new brewery based out of Reno, Nevada, Buckbean Brewing, and their brews sound interesting. Maybe I could get them to send me a bottle to review. They sound great. Here is what they sent me:

We’re a new brewing company from Reno, NV called Buckbean Brewing Company. We’ve been working on establishing ourselves as not only as a Native Nevadan Beer, but also a company that is environmentally conscious and making an effort to brew great tasting beer while helping out our planet at the same time.

Initially, the brewery will produce two beer styles for cans and kegs:

Black Noddy Lager is made in the classic Bavarian Schwarzbier style. It offers deep color, moderate hops and smooth, toasty flavors that unfurl in layers.

Original Orange Blossom Ale isn’t a fruit beer, despite its name. This bright, zesty ale is built from caramel malts, American hops and orange flower water, which lends complex, aromatic, haunting notes.

The icy pure Truckee Meadows snowmelt used to make Buckbean is ideal for brewing.

I’m going to request samples so I can review them for you. In the meantime, check out the Buckbean Brewing Web site.

2 comments

  1. Buckbean makes great beer. I’m happy to have stumbled upon your blog…I’ll be stopping by often!


    • Good to hear it, little blogdorf!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

