h1

Beer Review: New Belgium Brewing’s Mothership Wit Organic Wheat Beer

August 12, 2008
Part 2 of a (now) 4 Part Series
Part I: Fat Tire Amber Ale
Part II: Mothership Wit Organic Wheat Beer
Part III: 1554 Enlightened Black Ale
Part IV: Mighty Arrow Pale Ale

Cheers,
The Beer Snob

The second part of this series was supposed to be New Belgium Brewing’s 1554, but I seem to have misplaced my tasting notes, and I really needed to post a review tonight (I have a backlog of tasting notes) so I decided to go ahead and post my review of New Belgium’s Mothership Wit instead.

According to the bottle, this brew:

…elevates the zesty wit or white beers of Belgium with wheat, malt, coriander and orange peel spicing – all of which are organically grown. The alluring taste is the result of a gravitational balance of citrus and sour flavors held in suspension by a bright burst of carbonation.

On to the review…

The Pour
This poured into a pilsner glass to a three finger thick head. The head was pillowy and fluffy with a decent amount of lacing as it dissipates. The beer itself is a lemony yellow straw color. It’s definitely cloudy but some clarity can still be observed. It looks like it has a mild level of carbonation.

The Nose
There are nice wheat and spice notes present in the nose right away. You can smell the coriander and slight citrus notes from the orange peel. It’s a nice bready nose with the spice and citrus giving it a nice freshness.

The Taste
This is full bodied and wheaty, with the spice and orange peel definitely present. The spice comes out more as the beer warms. This is a good thick witbier. It’s smoother than I expected it to be, with a creamy smooth mouthfeel. I noticed a sour lemony note on the finish. The beer is thick and coats your palate with good flavor.

Overall
This is a good solid example of a witbier. It’s a good choice if you want to branch out from something like Blue Moon to a more authentic and fully flavored witbier.

Recommended: Yes, it’s a good solid witbier.

Price: $2.99 for a 22-oz. bottle

ABV: 4.8%

12 comments

  1. […] The Beer Snob Beer Reviews A beer blog featuring reviews from The Beer Snob « Cigar City Brewing — new brewery and blog Rock the Mike: The Freeman Brainefit » New Belgium Brewing: Fat Tire Amber Ale August 2, 2008 Part 1 of a 3 Part Series In honor of New Belgium’s brews now being available in Tennessee, I thought I would do a New Belgium series of reviews. There are currently only three of their brews available here that I’ve seen, so it will be a short series, but I hope you enjoy it!Part I: Fat Tire Amber Ale Part II: Mothership Wit Organic Wheat Beer […]


  2. […] whacky, dorky, funny—and all too true—video. Now if only New Belgium would offer all my favorite beers with organic options, I’d tattoo Team Wonderbike’s logo on my […]


  3. Nice review. Those Blue Moon drinkers are loyal to their brand. I am curious to see how they accept this one.


  4. thanks Smitty….I don’t know how they accept this brew but it’s time they move up and branch out :)


  5. Do you review free beers handed to you off the street?


  6. never had free beer handed to me off the street….what do you mean?


  7. I had Bud Select handed to me at a bar as part of a promotion. It was not worth reviewing.


  8. You should change the site name to “The Beer King”.
    Take care.
    So You Want To Be a Banquet Manager


  9. […] Beer Snob Beer Reviews blog A beer blog featuring reviews from The Beer Snob « New Belgium Brewing: Mothership Wit Organic Wheat Beer New Belgium Brewing: 1554 Enlightened Black Ale September 23, 2008 Part 3 of a 3 Part […]


  10. […] Pale Ale March 7, 2009 Part 4 of a (now) 4 Part Series Part I: Fat Tire Amber Ale Part II: Mothership Wit Organic Wheat Beer Part II: 1554 Enlightened Black Ale Part IV: Mighty Arrow Pale […]


  11. […] I: Fat Tire Amber Ale Part II: Mothership Wit Organic Wheat Beer Part III: 1554 Enlightened Black Ale Part IV: Mighty Arrow Pale […]


  12. […] I: Fat Tire Amber Ale Part II: Mothership Wit Organic Wheat Beer Part III: 1554 Enlightened Black Ale Part IV: Mighty Arrow Pale […]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

