h1

Beer Review: Dogfish Head Indian Brown Ale

October 25, 2008

I tried three beers I had never tried before when I was in Panama City Beach recently, thanks to Chan’s Wine World, and Dogfish Head’s Indian Brown Ale was probably my favorite of the three. Dogfish Head is a brewery out of Milton, Delaware. So here we go…

According to the bottle, this is

…a clean well-hopped brown ale with aromatic barley, caramelized brown sugar and whole leaf Liberty and Goldings hops

The Pour
This pours to a 2-3 finger thick, brown sugar colored head that leaves good lacing on the glass. The beer itself is a dark coffee color. It looks nice and full bodied.

The Nose
This beer smells amazing. There are nice hops in the nose, mingling and converging with coffee, roasted malt and chocolate notes and touches of nuttiness. Smells like it would be full-bodied, and the various aromas are all very well balanced. I am very excited about trying this beer!

The Taste
Excellent brew! The chocolate and coffee notes I found in the nose are also present on the palate, and there is also a nice dryness to it, almost an oakiness really. At the front of the sip the hops are mild but not hiding, and they peek through again on the finish. This beer is full-bodied and has a well rounded mouthfeel. It really just rolls smoothly around the mouth. There is a slight hint of the higher ABV…this combined with the hops and the oaky notes give it hints of whiskey in the finish.

Overall
Excellent! Very tasty brew! Aside from this one, I have only had one other IBA, but I can tell this is the one the others will have to live up to. It has a lot of character and depth, much more than you would expect. The higher ABV hit me fairly quickly, so be forewarned.

Recommended: Absolutely! Based on this one beer alone I may drink nothing but Dogfish Head for a while, if I can get it here, to try more of their products.

Price: I’ll have to find out…I lost the receipt

ABV: 7.2%

10 comments

  1. $3 for a 12-ounce bottle?


  2. No, I’m thinking it was maybe between 10-12 dollars for a six pack? I can’t remember. I may e-mail Chan’s and find out


  3. I believe its about $14 per six in Nashville, last time I checked. I am a 90 minute fan myself.


  4. I thought it might be available here but couldn’t remember. I had intended to try stuff I couldn’t get in Nashville, but I sure am glad I tried this one!


  5. I should be happy I can get a 4 pack for $10. This is one of Dogfish Heads best brews. A staple in my fridge. I have to agree with the 90 minute as well. But I love most of Sam’s brews.


  6. Everyone recommends this one, will have to look for it.


  7. [...] hopped India Pale Ale). Dogfish Head is a Delaware brewery, and I have tried and reviewed their India Brown Ale before, but that was the only one of their beers I had tried, until [...]


  8. [...] hopped India Pale Ale). Dogfish Head is a Delaware brewery, and I have tried and reviewed their India Brown Ale before, but that was the only one of their beers I had tried, until [...]


  9. [...] hopped India Pale Ale). Dogfish Head is a Delaware brewery, and I have tried and reviewed their India Brown Ale before, but that was the only one of their beers I had tried, until [...]


  10. [...] and decided to try it again.  We had friends over for dinner and, for your reference, I had two Dogfish Head Indian Brown Ales (7.2% ABV), a full glass of 11% ABV merlot, a third of a bottle of 14% ABV Samichlaus, and a good [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

