h1

Beer Review: Buckbean’s Brewing’s Tule Duck Red Ale

July 29, 2009

As promised, my package from Buckbean Brewing Company did arrive, and boy was I happy to see it. I’ve been looking forward to this for 2 months! Along with the Original Orange Blossom Ale I have been eagerly awaiting, I received a tall can of Tule Duck Red Ale. Here’s what their Web site had to say about this beer:

This deep red, robust ale combines a silky smooth, rich body with a fruity, caramel malt flavor and a soft, herbal dry hopped finish. A full flavored, classic beer that pairs well with hearty foods of all types.

Sounds great, right? Well, I’ll be the judge of that!   ;-D

The Pour
This looked almost thick coming out of the can. It poured to a one finger head, which is a light brown color, somewhat like the color of brown rice lightened up a notch. The head was somewhat short-lived, and the lacing was of a decent amount. The beer itself is a reddish-tinged lightly chocolatey color and is quite opaque.

The Nose
There is a definite maltiness present, that gives the nose a caramel and roasted malt intro with woody hints. It smells very tasty, and clean and crisp but with a good (not overly cloying) sweetness.

The Taste
Something of a sweet coffee taste is what I noticed right up front. Roasty coffee and woody flavors linger a while on the finish in the back of the throat. As the beer warms and multiple swallows are taken, mineral notes and a pleasant mustiness make their presence known. Halfway through the can, and also as it warms, a little bit of floral hop flavor is also detected. This beer seems a tad shy of full bodied. It’s crisp but it does soften on the finish as the Buckbean Web site mentions.

Overall
I actually haven’t had a lot of red ales in my day. In actuality, the only red beer I can even think of that I’ve ever tried is Killian’s Irish Red, and that was so long ago I don’t even really remember what that was like. But this beer was not what I was expecting. But overall, I think this is a very good beer. It’s a good, malty brew with enough hoppiness to dry and crisp it up and avoid being nothing but malt. The depth of flavor comes through as you drink the beer, which is always a good thing. I liked this beer very much!

Recommended: Yes, if you can get this, it is worth every penny of whatever you have to pay for it. Buckbean Brewing Company comes across to me as a brewery that knows what it’s doing and does it their own unique way.

Price: Unknown (sample sent for reviewing)

ABV: Unknown, but from drinking it, I would have to say it is 6% or higher. Could be the fact that I drank it on an empty stomach, though.

2 comments

  1. 6.2% from what the can says in front of me.


  2. [...] I’ve previously reviewed their Original Orange Blossom Ale, Black Noddy Lager and Tule Duck Red Ale, so you know I’m a fan of their [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

