h1

Beer Review: Blackstone Brewery Nut Brown Ale

January 17, 2007

Blackstone BreweryI’ve had this brew many times, but since Socialretard wanted me to do some local brews, I thought I’d review Blackstone’s Nut Brown Ale.

I cracked the bottle open and immediately poured it into my lager glass. (My pints were dirty). I didn’t pour as well as I usually do, so the head was minimal at best, with very little lacing.

The beer poured a dark brown color with ruby undertones where the light made it through the beer near the narrower parts of the glass. There was a definite hint of nuttiness on the nose, and I prepared to drink.

The carbonation was relatively light. So, unfortunately, was the nutty taste. There were hints of nuttiness, but they weren’t as pronounced as I would have liked. The mouthfeel was fairly light and soft.

I don’t really have too much to say about this one because the complexity is not really there. This seems to be something brewed to appeal to the Bud, Coors and Miller crowds, as an intro into microbrewing and nut brown ales. It’s what you could call a PC nut brown ale. It really doesn’t want to offend anyone with its character.

Recommended: As a starter nut brown, perhaps
Price: I paid $1.49 for one 12 oz. bottle
ABV: Unknown

2 comments

  1. Don’t fall behind brother!


  2. Dear ladies and gentleman,
    I would be pleased about a free set of labels ( neck, belly and back ) of your beertype. It’s for my collectors item. If it is possible, I would be happy to get a set of crown cork and a set of beer mat.
    My Adress:
    Alexander Susdorf – Am Suedhang 11 – 56337 Arzbach – Germany –
    many greetings, Alexander



Leave a Reply

