h1

Beer Review: Mississippi Mud

October 26, 2007

missmud.jpgMississippi Mud is a beer apparently brewed by the Arizona Beverage Co., or so I’m told by a reviewer of the beer over at epinions.com, although the bottle says “Mississippi Brewing Co, Utica, New York”.  I’ve had it before but I’ve wanted to review it for this blog for some time now. Here goes…

 According to the bottle, this is “Mississippi Mud: Famous slow-brewed black and tan beer”. Here’s more info from the jug:

Dating back to 18th-century England, the custom of blending pale and dark beers has kept the “Black and Tan” a favorite of experienced beer drinkers for centuries.

Our famous recipe combines a robust English porter with a fine Continental Pilsner, preserving the character of each, while creating the classic taste of the legendary “Black and Tan”. In true American style, we bring you the best of both beers as they meet in Missisippi Mud.

The Pour
This pours out of the moonshine jug a dark rich brown that does allow some light to pass through. The head it develops with a vigorous pour is average, with slight lacing and a nice caramel color.

The Nose
The chocolate and coffee scents standard to a porter are immediately noticeable. Some hops finally made their way through after a few good inhales. The porter and the pilsner are both evident in the nose.

The Taste
This beer shows up with slightly smoky coffee flavors, with just a bit of chocolate. It’s somewhat light bodied. Not quite medium-bodied, but not far off. There is slightly above average carbonation but it’s not too much, really. There is a crisp finish to the beer which I see as the pilsner making its presence known.

Overall
This is really not too bad. I enjoy it, myself, on occasion. This could be a good way to start branching out into things like porters and stouts, if you’ve never had them before. It’s very drinkable and not too heavy. It would also be great if you’re in the mood for a stout or a porter but the weather outside suggests something lighter.

Recommended: Sure, it’s a nicely flavored drinkable beer for the price.

Price: $2.69 for a 32 oz jug

ABV: 5%

22 comments

  1. Hello, just stoped by the comment section to thank you for the work you have been doing so others can enjoy your blog with a morning cup of coffe 🙂


  2. I live in Roseburg OR. I love Mississippi Mud Black and Tan but the closest place i can find it is in Williams California (about 5 hrs from home) can someone tell me if there is anywhere closer that carries it or a way that i can order it by the case.


  3. where can i buy this beer near dearborn heights mich


    • You can buy Mississippi Mud at Discount Drinks 2811 Fort St. Wyandotte, MI 48192 #734-282-3800. They might not have it on the shelf, but they can order it for you.


  4. This beer can be bought a Bev Mo. Check it out online @ BevMo.com


  5. I live in Wisconsin and I tried ordering from Bev Mo, but they cannot ship to Wisconsin. Years ago I did purchase this at a store in Door County, WI and like it very much. I would like to purchase again if anyone has any ideas as to where I can purchase this. Thanks


  6. I also want to purchase “Mississippi Mud” beer here in Central New York. I know it is made by Utica Club brewery in Utica NY. I went there- I was told they are under contract to make it but are not allowed to sell it and the salesperson had NO idea where I could buy it.
    By the way- the Utica Club Brewery is a great place to visit and take a tour.


    • Hi, I’m from Northern CA, and I can always find this beer at Safeway, or Trader Joes for sure… you folks have those stores right? Anywho, just trying to be a help. I totally recomend this beer… I had a quart of it last night and I was very satisfied. 🙂 Eccellent, complex flavor my friend!


  7. I’ve also tried this Mississippi Mud, and largely was disappointed. I’m not sure what I expected but I was thinking something significantly thicker considering the cool bottle and and namesake. For goodness sake, at least a cloudy completion.

    I also write a fairly new alcohol review at http://drinkingwithcruthers.wordpress.com/
    and would like to know your opinion.

    Thanks and good on yah


  8. I purchased a couple of the bottles at Trader Joe’s. If you can find one in your neighborhood they should have it.


    • My local Trader Joe’s stopped Discontinued it last week!! …WTF?


  9. I purchased my first bottle of Mud today from our local Big Red Liquors store in Beford, Indiana. I think the Mud is fantastic, and will be getting them again in the near future.

    This is an excellent beer for the price, or even forget the price, and it still is an excellent beer.

    I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good craft or micro brewed beer.


  10. Winn Dixie Grocery stores sell it in Florida.


  11. Publix sells it also here in Florida. I just bought a couple of 32ozers to try out, they are in the fridge at present. Should be suckin’ them up in a day or two when I have the time.


  12. Finally got around to sampling them. For $2.69 for a 32oz it is a decent beer for the price. Some complain that it is over carbonated and very little head. Set a half liter beer glass on the table and pour the beer from a couple of inches above the rim straight down the middle. It produced a 4″ head that lasted for 11mins by the sweep hand on my watch. This took care of both problems. The mouthfeel was a little thin, aroma chocolaty and coffee with a few hops, but for the price I would recommend it. Being a homebrewer I reuse the growlers along with my Grolsch snaptop bottles.


    • yeah it’s kind of one of those beers I have a soft spot for…one of my first non-Bud/Coors/Miller beers


  13. I tried this beer just for the heck of it and found it very tastefull. I do kind of wish it came in cans …easier to store in my frig. But even with that I like it. In fact the other day I had a real earge for some and the store I get it at was out of it. That was a big disapointment to me. I told the store manager they should get more because I think it is cathing on. Well the nextday it was there. My earge was gone by then but I bought some just the same and well it was good. I do wish they would put the alchol % on the bottle thou. But I see it here so now I know. Anyway it is a good beer and all I cansay is keep making it people will buy it I know I will.


  14. I enjoy this beer a lot. I live in Wisconsin and purchased it years ago in the super markets and liquor stores. As fast as it came on the scene after a few years it left. For ahile I was able to get it from the National Ligur Bar in Milwaukee but than they tore that place down and replaced it with a Walgreens. Walgreens doesn’t carry the beer, too bad.
    I enjoy the beer a lot especially in a frosty way.
    Does anybody know where this beer may be purchased north of Milwaukee?


  15. […] Mississippi Mud […]


  16. I love mississippi mud, but I heard from someone at my local trader joes that they won’t be carrying it in the future. This is in Napa Valley, and saddens me a great deal. It is one beer that I tried to pour in a glass, but I think it tastes better right out of the bottle. Can’t explain that one, but that’s the way I like it.


  17. I love Mississippi Mud! Perfection in beer.


  18. I think it makes a fine cooking beer, among other things.



Leave a Reply

