h1

Beer Review: Highland Brewing Company’s Black Mocha Stout

February 22, 2008

blackmocha.jpgWith it being fairly cold outside, my tastes naturally turn towards stouts and porters. This time around I decided to go for Highland Brewing Co.s Black Mocha Porter. I would have loved to have had this outside, in front of my outdoor fireplace, but that would have made it hard to write my tasting notes, now wouldn’t it?

Instead I tried this as I waited for my coconut crusted tilapia with mango and papaya (courtesy of Kroger) to cook.

Here’s what the packaging says about this brew:

Highland’s most robust beer, having a very malty body with a large, roasted chocolate flavor, all achieved solely through the use of special roasted barley grains. It is black in color with a very clean finish and a moderate hop flavor.

The Pour
This poured very dark, really basically black but with reddish tinges around the edges of my pint glass. A vigorous pour results in a nice pillowy mocha-colored head that leaves just a touch of lacing on the glass.

The Nose
There are very nice chocolate notes on the nose, and hints of the roasted goodness to come. It really smells terrific, like a Riesen’s candy or a high-end tootsie roll.

The Taste
This has a nice full body. The chocolate is not that noticeable really, but the roasted flavor is quite strong and wonderful! There is a good amount of carbonation, not too much, and the mouthfeel is , to me, a little thick and oily, in a very good way.

Overall
Highland Brewing Co. seems to produce good products, but I was still surprised at just how good this beer really was. With every swallow I thought, “This is one good beer!” The roasted flavor is terrific and it really just works for me. Excellent brew!
Recommended: Absolutely. I am enchanted with this beer. Terrific stout flavors.

Price: $9.99/6-pack

ABV: 5.3%

2 comments

  1. Hey Beer snob, the beer doctor says hey! Good review.


  2. Hey Beer doctor….thanks!



Leave a Reply

