h1

Back from Panama City Beach!

October 16, 2008

I have returned from Panama City Beach and have some reviews ready to post soon. I tried two different Dogfish Head brews while there and a beer Brooklyn Brewery and a German brewery collaborated on, and I am very happy with all three. I’l get those posted soon.

In the meantime, let me tell you about the place where I purchased my beer. I was staying at Calypso Towers and asked two fellas at Waterstone Resorts (across the street from our condo) where to get good microbrews and imports. They recommended Chan’s Wine World. For that they have my eternal gratitude.

I walked into Chan’s and started checking out their selection. After about a minute and a half I wanted to move in! I would say a third of what they had is not available here and 50% of that I had never seen before. They had some excellent excellent selections! I saw a beer there I am pretty sure I had in Italy and have not seen stateside since.

Best of all, the store manager, S. Chris Christiansen. I could tell he was a definite conosseiur of beer and he was an interesting character to meet. Just seemed like a very knowledgeable guy with a genuine love of beer. Definitely someone you would want to hang out with and get to know. A real great guy.

So please, if you ever get to Panama City Beach and want good beer, run to Chan’s……you will not be sorry. And don’t forget to visit their Web site.

P.S. One of the beers I bought at Chan’s is Dogfish Head’s India Brown Ale. Don’t wait for my review…..buy it now!!! You will not be sorry!

7 comments

  1. I’ve heard great things about Chans Wine World and can’t wait to go visit!!!

    Cheers!

    The Beerbuddha


  2. Just a note Beerbuddha….I never did see anywhere on the building that said Chan’s Wine World….just Wine World I believe. Excellent selection, I thought. I’ll never go to Panama City Beach again without heading there at least once


  3. Yeah, just a bad habit. Chans the owner and the website is chanswineworld.com.


  4. Oh I know it’s Chan’s Wine World….just didn’t want you looking for a building with Chan on it 🙂


  5. Awesome blog! I know this post is old, but I thought I’d through this out there anyway – the next time you’re in that area, be sure to check out the Chan’s in Destin also. It’s a bit of a drive, but I think they have an even better selection. My parents live in Seaside, and I love going in there a few times a year when I’m in Flordia.

    Over Thanksgiving I was able to get a couple Dogfish 120 Minute IPAs, which was an awesome find. Talk to Jim, the beer guy at the Destin store… he keeps some of the rarer stuff under the counter.


  6. […] I first mentioned them last year, and they are where I first purchased any of Dogfish Head’s amazing beers. […]


  7. […] I first mentioned them last year, and they are where I first purchased any of Dogfish Head’s amazing beers. […]



Leave a Reply

